Goodbye To The News

I watched the absolute death of journalism, of unbiased, objective reporting of the facts on election night.

Specifically I watched CBS destroy what was left of my belief in the existence of it.  Even more specifically I watched Gayle King, Charlie Rose, Norah O’Donnell, Bob Shieffer, and John Dickerson destroy it.  They broke my heart in the bargain.  I really liked and admired these people.  I thought a lot of them.  I believed that they were true journalists.  As it turns out, they are the exact opposite.

As I watched them fumble, flat footed, for an explanation for how they had not known what was going to happen during this election I realized that they thought they knew what was going to happen and had prepared their entire night based on that. They had decided long before election night that Hillary was going to win and that she was going to win early.  They had their talking points all laid out, their line up of factoids set out in order of appearance.  They probably even knew what time they would call the election and sign off.  I laughed at them for being silent as they sat in disbelief.  And then I got angry.  I don’t think I have ever been so disappointed by such naked dereliction of duty.

That isn’t reporting! That’s not journalism! That was a talk show.  Just like The View. The Talk. The Real.  That was nothing more than a bunch of people with an over inflated sense of their own importance sitting around trying to influence the ignorant, uneducated, hillbilly, redneck, unwashed hick people in their audience to vote how they wanted them to.  And they believed that they had done it. They believed that they had that election sewn up just the way they wanted it to be.  They were stupified when it didn’t go the way they meant for it to.

One of the most important factors in a successful democracy is a free press.  A free press assures that the people get an accurate and unbiased reporting of the facts surrounding the important events in the country and the world so that the citizenry can make informed decisions.   These people aren’t reporters of the news, they are participants in it. That makes them not only useless to us, it makes them destructive to our democracy!

To quote Walter Cronkite, “Objective journalism and an opinion column are about as similar as the Bible and Playboy Magazine.” You my ex friends are most certainly Not the Bible! You’re not Playboy either, that’s crappy to Playboy and they haven’t done anything to deserve that comparison.

I hope when things settle down and you all have time to reflect on what has gone on that you feel the shame that we feel towards you.  I hope you realize the harm you’ve done and are repentant. I hope you have some sort of understanding of the breach of trust you have caused.  I don’t hold out much hope for that. You can’t un-ring that bell anyway.

How do you like the result you created? Was it what you hoped for?

Leave a Reply

