Dr. Seuss was just outside my house!

I’m having one of those days.  Those blah days.  Everything is slow and dim.  I’ve got no energy.  I can’t focus on anything.  I’m sitting in my lazygirl recliner when I happen to notice movement outside of the large window light next to the front door. 

For those of you who don’t know, window lights are those long narrow windows that flank the front door on older houses.  I’m taking poetic license here, using that term, but it’s my blog world and I can do that if I want to, so Nanny Nanny Boo Boo! 

I look outside and what do I see?  The truest Dr. Seuss stack of stuff I’ve ever seen in real life.  It’s all based on a rocking chair, followed by an ice chest on wheels, etc, etc!  It’s rocking back and forth, it’s teetering, it’s tottering, it’s dittering, it’s dottering!  And leaves are falling all around it.  Am I dreaming?  Am I hallucinating?  Are all those bad choices I made in the 70’s coming back to haunt me? 

I walk to the door, open it and look up.  At the very tippiest toppiest of the whole thing is my grandson,  gently weaving back and forth, pulling leaves out of the rain gutter.  I was actually surprised to see that he wasn’t wearing a red and white striped top hat. 

He was retrieving the tennis ball.  The ladder leaning up against the tree 10 feet away never occurred to him.  (insert screwball face here)  I swear sometimes when I’m having a bad day these kids are the only thing standing between me and a coma.

Leave a Reply

