Brothers

I have three brothers.  One older and two younger.  I love my brothers.  Don’t get me wrong.  We fought like cats and dogs when we were coming up.  If there was a mean thing that could be done, we did it to each other.  As the only girl, I learned to be fast and mean.  I will never be able to thank them enough for that!  The lessons I learned have served me well in my life. 

There is a strength you get from brothers that stands in the background of your life.  It gets embedded in your psyche in infancy and it never goes away.  You know throughout your life in every bad situation that comes about, that all you have to do is make a call and you have backup.  Even if you don’t use it, you know it’s there.  There is a strength in that knowledge that will get you through even the toughest situations.

If you have brothers you are never alone.  If you have brothers you are never weak.  If you have brothers you will never be homeless.  If you have brothers you will never starve.  If you have brothers you will always be understood.  If you have brothers you will always have support. 

On the other hand if you have brothers you will always be dogged out when you cry.  When you have brothers you will be teased if you don’t keep up.  If you have brothers you will get your hair pulled.  If you have brothers you will get skinned knees. 

If you have brothers you will have the best forts EVER!  If you have brothers you will have the best friends ever.  If you have brothers you will have the best prom dates ever.  If you have brothers you will have ……… brothers!

Brothers rules!  I wouldn’t trade my brothers for anything.  They each have something that I need.  They each have something that no one else on the face of the earth could give me.  I need each one of them.  I always have. They are as different as any three random people on the street.  And yet they are the same.  They surround me in my heart and in my mind every day.  They are a major part of the foundation that I am built on.  Without my brothers I would be less than I am.  With them I am limitless.

In loving memory of Norman Edward Haus… My Brother… Always

Not in my sight but always in my heart, mind and soul.

Leave a Reply

